My 2 Cents: Road to WrestleMania 33

I want to start this off by saying that I am a WWE fan, I have been since I was 5 years old. I am now 24 and I still love watching the WWE product no matter how stale it may be at times, and yes it can get really bad at times. So with that being said, I am not happy with this year’s WrestleMania card and even more disappointed with how the build up to the event has been handled. Am I saying that I wont be watching WrestleMania this year? Of course I’m going to be watching, it’s WrestleMania, but I am going into the event feeling as I always feel, as though the entire cards finish is too predictable. So why watch? Why watch every match knowing exactly how it ends? Well thats kinda how being a smart WWE fan works. We think we know it all, and at times we do, I feel like I watch RAW, Smackdown and certain PPV events correctly predicting every single match on the card more times than I should, but it’s ok because I am a fan and I’ve been ok with this for years now. So here’s my problem with WrestleMania 33, the entire card had been leaked months earlier. Since before the Royal Rumble to be exact. Now because of how early that time was, all of the news concerning the match card had to be considered rumors, but here we are a little over a week away from WrestleMania and the rumored card and the actual card are exactly the same. Why is that the case!?

I wasn’t ok with finding out the rumored WrestleMania card as early as I did, but thats what happens when you follow fellow WWE fans on twitter. So with the now “rumored” card at the time being the actual card, I thought WWE would have taken it upon themselves to switch it up a bit. Everyone now knew what they were going to be seeing at the event, maybe make it so that we didnt know everything. They didn’t have to re-write the entire card, just change some things up so that when I tune in to watch WrestleMania, that AJ Styles vs Shane McMahon was now AJ Styles vs Shinsuke Nakamura. Or The Fatal 4 way Women’s title match was now just Bayley vs Sasha Banks. WWE did not even try to make this kind of attempt for the fans. So here we are preparing to watch Wrestlemania 33, the event that had pretty much been locked in and leaked months in advance and we all know who’s winning and who isn’t.
I originally wanted to do a WrestleMania 33 prediction post, but that would be pointless and a waste of all of our time. So with that idea out of the picture I will be laying out which matches I am looking forward to and what match should close out the show. I’ll start off with the hand full of matches that I actually care about.

Goldberg Defends The Universal Championship Against Brock Lesnar


Universal Championship: Goldberg(c) vs. Brock Lesnar

I am not really looking forward to seeing these two men in the ring again,  I’m just curious as to how long it will actually go on for. Ever since Goldberg returned, we have seen that his matches don’t last long and he doesn’t really take bumps. So as he faces Brock Lesnar for what I’m assuming is the last time, how does this go? Lesnar is a Beast and there is no way he’s losing at WrestleMania. He will leave the New Universal Champion, but will this be another 2 minute match? Will Brock hit a couple of suplex and one f5 to finish Goldberg off? Will Goldberg have any offense in his title defense? I have no idea how the actual match plays out, but I know for sure Goldberg doesn’t leave with the Universal Championship.

The Big Dog Faces The Phenom

The Undertaker vs. Roman Reigns
Undertaker taking on Roman Reigns at WrestleMania is one of the few matches I am looking forward to. As this match was also rumored to happen, from that moment I was instantly ok with the match happening. I am not a fan of Roman Reigns, not because it’s “cool” to boo him, but because I can’t take any of his promos seriously(I’m a Mark For Great Promos). He’s a great in ring talent and I won’t be one of those people who says he sucks just because everyone else thinks so, I am just not a fan of his mic work and not a fan of him being shoved down our throats. Roman Reigns needs to go Heel and it needs to happen as soon as WrestleMania. There’s no doubt that he will be boo’d, especially facing Taker who will be billed as the fan favorite in their bout, but I think it’s about time they capitalize on that heat and have Reigns destroy The Undertaker and make this turn official. A Undertaker match will always have people tuning in, he’s The Undertaker. This one will be no different, the streak is no longer a thing but him being there is an attraction on it’s own. The Undertaker has been appearing at WrestleMania for some time, even though he really doesn’t have to anymore. As sad as it is to say, I think Taker’s days as a competitor are done. After seeing how he was barely able to keep up in the Royal Rumble match, I don’t think we need to see him push himself beyond his limits anymore. He’s given the WWE and the fans more than we deserve. So this match with Roman Reigns should be his last match in the WWE. Going out with a loss will mean nothing, because he has accomplished so much in his career. Besides, I see the WWE booking this match to “pass the torch” to Reigns. He’s clearly their guy, so I don’t think he leaves this match without gaining some huge momentum. That’s where his victory comes in, and I am ok with that finish. I am really looking forward to watching this match take place.

Will John Cena and Nikki Bella Finally Shut The Mouths Of The Miz and Maryse


Mixed Tag Team Match: John Cena & Nikki Bella vs. The Miz & Maryse

Of all the matches on the card, this is my absolute favorite as far as the build goes. Ever since the brand split, The Miz has really stepped his game up. His mic work has always been Awesome(ha!) but his in ring work and what he’s done with the Intercontinental Championship has been the best in his career. John Cena is John Cena, Recognize! Some people feel that Cena having to face Miz at WrestleMania is a “downgrade”. That just isn’t the case, as these two are having the best matches in their respective careers. Then there is the Mixed tag team element to this match, which makes it so much more interesting. The back and forward promo work that both sides have been doing has made me want to watch this match even more. They have really broken that boundary as to what’s real and fake. This is sports entertainment but if you watch and listen to everything The Miz has been saying, you can feel that it all comes from a real place. It’s amazing to watch, and I love every second. I couldn’t care less as to who wins, I’m just excited to see what happens in this match. Not a prediction, but if you were to ask me who I’d want to win, The Miz and Maryse. He deserves it and has really worked his ass off for this WrestleMania moment.

Bray Wyatt Finally Has The Whole World In His Hands, But Randy Orton May Want It All For Himself


WWE Championship: Bray Wyatt(c) vs. Randy Orton

Bray Wyatt is Finally the WWE Champion. I couldn’t be more happy for the guy. No one deserves it more than Bray Wyatt. He has stayed in this spot in his career where he’s always been this entertaining talent, but no one seemed to know how to use him. Now that he is finally rid of the Wyatt Family, Bray can shine as the star he’s always been. After a few months of Randy Orton being apart of The Wyatt Family, Orton finally revealed that he was never apart of Bray’s family. Orton then had to earn a shot at the title against AJ Styles. That setting up this match for the WWE championship at WrestleMania, even though Randy Orton winning the Royal Rumble guaranteed him the opportunity anyway but that’s it’s own situation. So now we have Bray Wyatt as the WWE Champion, and Randy Orton as the Challenger, the build to this was definitely not the greatest. We all seen Randy Orton betraying Bray, but the whole burning the Wyatt family compound and “destroying Sister Abigail” stuff was not needed. I found it to be so corny and thought an RKO would have been better then everything they put together to set up the betrayal. I’m sure this will be a pretty good match, but i’m more looking forward to who walks out the WWE Champion. I have Bray Wyatt retaining in this match just because I’d hate for him to finally get the gold just to have him drop it this soon, but Orton winning it would be ok too. I am a fan of both and although this is also one of the very few matches that I can’t confidently say who’s going to win, not knowing what is going to happen in a match is what makes WWE worth watching.

These are the matches that I am really looking forward to watching at WrestleMania 33 come April 2, 2017. WWE has this thing where if there is a big event that features more than one big match, then there are multiple “Main Events”. I think I speak for every WWE fan when I say, there is only one Main Event and thats the match that closes the show. There are rumors that Goldberg and Brock Lesnar will be the true Main Event for WrestleMania. I do not agree with this decision. There is no telling how long this match will go and everyone knows that it ends with Lesnar as the winner. It’s a mistake to put this match on last. Now if it were up to me, the Main Event would be the WWE Championship match. Why? Well, the winner of the Royal Rumble match wins a shot at the Championship in the Main Event of WrestleMania. Randy Orton won the Royal Rumble, Bray Wyatt is WWE Champion. This is suppose to be your  WrestleMania Main Event. This should close the show. Am I saying that the match will be Main Event quality? Maybe, it should be, it has two great superstars involved. If WWE had a problem with this actually closing the show, then they should have planned something different with the Royal Rumble leading into Mania, but that didnt happen and this is what we have. I say let Orton and Wyatt close the show. Let Bray Wyatt prove why he deserves to be the WWE Champion and that he is main event quality.

Thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts on this year’s WrestleMania. Even with all of my complaints I am still very excited to be watching the show in a little over a week and I will be ready to write about everything that takes place at WrestleMania 33. 

Images courtesey of WWE.com

Leave a Reply

