My 2 Cents: Sling TV vs. PlayStation Vue

  I have been looking to avoid the INSANE cable prices for a while now. Ever since I moved out and got hit with this thing that comes with life outside of home called bills, I’ve been looking for ways to cut corners and save as much money as possible while getting the best experience that I can. So as I finished moving into my apartment, the first thing that I wanted to have set up was Internet/Cable as I can only imagine is everyone’s priority when first moving into a new place. After finally getting my internet situation set up with my internet provider, now was the time to decide what cable alternative to live television to go with. Before I got my internet I had already decided that I was not going to pay for cable through Comcast or anyone else as the prices were just too high for basic channels that werent even in HD. I’m talking a plan of 25 mbps and 30 non HD channels for $140/m. That is ridiculous and not worth the money at all. I had two really good options to choose between. Being the smart shopper that I am, I tried both services and stuck with the one I found to be the best for the price. So which is the better Cable Alternative? Sling TV or Playstation Vue? If you’re ready to cut the cord, continue reading and I’ll let you know which one I prefer.

Sling TV has 3 different plan for 3 different prices, the $20 Sling orange comes with 30+ channels, $25 Sling Blue with 40+ and $40 Sling Orange + Blue with All of Sling’s channels minus the Add-On Channels which I will talk about later. I will lay out every included channel for each of the plans listed above.

Sling TV Packages

Sling Orange:

ESPN, Amc, CNN, HGTV, Comedy Central, Cartoon Network, History, Disney Channel, ESPN 2, ESPN 3, TNT, Food Network, TBS, BBC America, Free Form, IFC, A&E, El Rey, Viceland, Lifetime, Travel Channel, AXS TV, Newsy, Cheddar, Bloomberg Television. Local Now, Polaris, Maker, and Galavision

This Plan Is Priced at $20/m

Sling Blue:

AMC, CNN, HGTV, Comedy Central, Cartoon Network, History, TNT, Food Network, TBS, BBC America, IFC, A&E, El Rey, Viceland, Lifetime, Travel, AXS TV, Newsy, Cheddar, Bloomberg Television, Local Now, Galavision, FOX, NBC, FOX Sports, CSN, NFL Network, FX, USA, Bravo, FS1, FS2, NBC SN, FXX, SYFY, Nick Jr, TRU TV, BET, National Geographic, Nat Geo Wild, Univision, and Uni Mas.

This Plan Is Priced at $25/m

Sling Orange + Blue:

I won’t list every channel in this package because it’s both Sling Orange and Sling Blue channels in one deal. The Price is $40/m so you’d be saving $5 by getting this package with all of the channels listed above in the previous packages.

Add-On Channels

Sling TV allows customers to choose one of the plans above but to also get a few extra channels with some Add- On Channel Packs. The prices for these plans start at an additional $5 and can go up to $15. Below I will list each plan with the included channels.

Kids Extra:

Disney Junior, Disney XD, Nick Jr, Nicktoons, Sling Kids, Teen Nick, and Baby TV.

This Plan Is Priced at $5

Comedy Plus:

MTV, TRU TV, Spike, MTV 2, GSN, CMT and TV Land.

This Plan Is Priced at $5

Lifestyle Plus:

VH1, BET, Cooking Channel, DIY, WE TV, Vibrant TV, FYI, Lifetime Movie Network, and Z Living HD.

This Plan Is Priced at $5.

Hollywood Extra:

EPIX, EPIX2, EPIX Hits, EPIX Drive-In, Fandor Festival, Sundance TV, HDNet Movies.

This Plan Is Priced at $5.

HBO: 

This Plan Is Priced at $15.

Cinemax:

This Plan Is Priced at $10.

Starz:

STARZ, STARZ West, STARZ Edge, STARZ Comedy, and STARZ Kids and Family.

This Plan Is Priced at $9.

Showtime:

SHOWTIME, SHOWTIME West, SHOWTIME 2, SHOWTIME Showcase, SHOWTIME Next, SHOWTIME Extreme, and SHOWTIME Women.

This Plan Is Priced at $10

My Thoughts and Experience

I started off with the Sling Blue 7 day free trial. I chose Blue for two reasons, 1 because it had two channels that I really love watching, them being USA and Tru TV. 2 is because the Blue Package allows you to stream Sling TV on more than one device, which would have been ideal if I was watching in one room and my fiance in another. The experience was not that bad. I was able to set my favorite channels so that the guide would offer my favorite first and the streaming was ok. That is the only problem though, the stream was just “ok”. I would have days where I’d be watching a show with now problems, but then there would be even more days where it would just choke up. I’d normally blame an bad internet connection for this, but I was using Sling on an XBOX One that was connected with an ethernet cable. Had a perfect internet connection at all times so that wasn’t the problem in this case. I tested Sling on my other devices and found the same problem. It’s very laggy and It just doesn’t come close to the near perfect live TV stream that I’m looking for. For paying $25 a month, I think for the price, and even if you’re adding some additional channels with the Add- On plans, It’s a pretty good Cable Alternative just not as smooth as I wanted it to be.

PlayStation Vue like Sling TV is a service that provides live TV with different plans at different prices. PS Vue has 4 Packages compared to Sling’s 3. Here is a list of Playstation Vue’s plans along with the channels packed in to them.

Playstation Vue Packages

Access Package:

ABC, AMC, Animal Planet, BET, Bravo, Cartoon Network, CBS, CMT, CNBC, CNN, Comedy Central, Destination America, Discovery Channel, Discovery Family, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Disney XD, DIY Network, E!, ESPN, ESPN 2, Esquire Network, Food Network, Fox, Fox Business Network, Fox News Channel, Fox Sports 1, Fox Sports 2, Freeform, FX, FXX, HGTV, HLN, Investigation Discovery, MSNBC, MyNetworkTV, MTV, MTV2, National Geographic Channel, NBC, NBCSN, NECN, Nick Jr., Nickelodeon, Nicktoons, OWN, Oxygen, Pop, Science Channel, Spike, SyFy, TBS, Telemundo, TLC, TNT, Travel Channel, TruTV, TV Land, USA Network, VH1, and WeTV.

Core Package:

ABC, AMC, Animal Planet, BET, Bravo, Cartoon Network, CBS, CMT, CNBC, CNN, Comedy Central, Destination America, Discovery Channel, Discovery Family, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Disney XD, DIY Network, E!, ESPN, ESPN 2, Esquire Network, Food Network, Fox, Fox Business Network, Fox News Channel, Fox Sports 1, Fox Sports 2, Freeform, FX, FXX, HGTV, HLN, Investigation Discovery, MSNBC, MyNetworkTV, MTV, MTV2, National Geographic Channel, NBC, NBCSN, NECN, Nick Jr., Nickelodeon, Nicktoons, OWN, Oxygen, Pop, Science Channel, Spike, SyFy, TBS, Telemundo, TLC, TNT, Travel Channel, TruTV, TV Land, USA Network, VH1, WeTV, BeIN Sports, Big Ten Network, Comcast SportsNet, ESPNews, ESPN U, Fox Sports Networks, Golf Channel, IFC, NFL Network, SEC Network, Sundance TV, and Turner Classic Movies.

Elite Package:

ABC, AMC, Animal Planet, BET, Bravo, Cartoon Network, CBS, CMT, CNBC, CNN, Comedy Central, Destination America, Discovery Channel, Discovery Family, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Disney XD, DIY Network, E!, ESPN, ESPN 2, Esquire Network, Food Network, Fox, Fox Business Network, Fox News Channel, Fox Sports 1, Fox Sports 2, Freeform, FX, FXX, HGTV, HLN, Investigation Discovery, MSNBC, MyNetworkTV, MTV, MTV2, National Geographic Channel, NBC, NBCSN, NECN, Nick Jr., Nickelodeon, Nicktoons, OWN, Oxygen, Pop, Science Channel, Spike, SyFy, TBS, Telemundo, TLC, TNT, Travel Channel, TruTV, TV Land, USA Network, VH1, WeTV, BeIN Sports, Big Ten Network, Comcast SportsNet, ESPNews, ESPN U, Fox Sports Networks, Golf Channel, IFC, NFL Network, SEC Network, Sundance TV, Turner Classic Movies, American Heroes Channel, BET Gospel, BET Jams, BET Soul, Boomerang, Centric, Chiller, Cloo, CMT Music, CNBC World, Cooking Channel, Discovery Life, Epix Hits, ESPN Deportes, Fox Deportes, Fusion, FXM, Hi-YAH!, Impact, Logo, Machinima, MGM HD, MTV Classic, MTV Live, MTVU, National Geographic Wild, ONE World Sports, Outside Television, Poker Central, Sony Movie Channel, Sprout, TeenNick, Universal HD, and Velocity.

Ultra Package:

ABC, AMC, Animal Planet, BET, Bravo, Cartoon Network, CBS, CMT, CNBC, CNN, Comedy Central, Destination America, Discovery Channel, Discovery Family, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Disney XD, DIY Network, E!, ESPN, ESPN 2, Esquire Network, Food Network, Fox, Fox Business Network, Fox News Channel, Fox Sports 1, Fox Sports 2, Freeform, FX, FXX, HGTV, HLN, Investigation Discovery, MSNBC, MyNetworkTV, MTV, MTV2, National Geographic Channel, NBC, NBCSN, NECN, Nick Jr., Nickelodeon, Nicktoons, OWN, Oxygen, Pop, Science Channel, Spike, SyFy, TBS, Telemundo, TLC, TNT, Travel Channel, TruTV, TV Land, USA Network, VH1, WeTV, BeIN Sports, Big Ten Network, Comcast SportsNet, ESPNews, ESPN U, Fox Sports Networks, Golf Channel, IFC, NFL Network, SEC Network, Sundance TV, Turner Classic Movies, American Heroes Channel, BET Gospel, BET Jams, BET Soul, Boomerang, Centric, Chiller, Cloo, CMT Music, CNBC World, Cooking Channel, Discovery Life, Epix Hits, ESPN Deportes, Fox Deportes, Fusion, FXM, Hi-YAH!, Impact, Logo, Machinima, MGM HD, MTV Classic, MTV Live, MTVU, National Geographic Wild, ONE World Sports, Outside Television, Poker Central, Sony Movie Channel, Sprout, TeenNick, Universal HD, Velocity, HBO East, HBO West, Showtime East, and Showtime West.

*Prices were not put under each package as again depending where you live prices may vary. There are also Add-On plans that mirror those of the Sling TV Add-On Plans at the same prices.

Another thing to note is that if you are comparing the number of shows for all packages, Sling TV for each package has their set channels, so what ever is listed in those packages is what you get and nothing more unless you pay for the add-on plans. Playstation Vue takes it’s original basic package, and as you pay for a better package you get the previous package’s channels and then the additional channels. This is great as every one of them starting from the access up to the Ultra come with more channels than all of Sling TV’s.

Depending on where you live you may be paying more money or less for Playstation’s Live TV service. Sling TV offers it’s packages at the prices listed above no matter where you are. It’s a firm price that you pay monthly. Playstation Vue’s Prices vary depending on where you are located for example, I use to live in Norwalk CT, PS VUE in norwalk started at $40 a month. I now live almost an hour away In East Haven CT and now the service starts at $30. I’ve also seen in certain places the price go as low as $20 for its starting plan, but unfortunately for me, that is not the offer for me. The pricing situation can be a huge deal breaker for some, and that’s understandable, but I still ask that you give the service a try with its free 5 day trial because if you find a price you’re ok with then the experience is what I feel is what makes the money worth it. I mentioned that the plan starts at $30 for me where I live and even though it’s $5 more than what I was paying with Sling TV, it’s $5 that I am more than ok spending on PS VUE. The layout is so clean and very easy to navigate, from the guide to the “Favorite Channel” and “Favorite Show” tabs of Vue. It’s as simple as the click of a button to add channels or shows to you’re favorites. Playstation Vue does a bit more with its favorites that Sling doesn’t, it has a DVR Feature for all of you’re favorites. I absolutely love this feature as there are times that I have a show that will be on but I may be busy with my son at the moment, PS Vue makes sure that when I am ready I can just go ahead and start from the beginning and not miss a thing. There’s also a feature where on the PS4 you can watch 2-3 channels at the exact same time. Now audio will only come from one of the channels that you choose to prioritize but this is a fantastic feature for people with kids where you may be watching something and the little one also wants to watch his show. It’s also great for people into sports as they can watch their favorite show while also keeping an eye on the big game. Though the feature is limited to just the PS4 at the moment, it’s such a great one that I use as much as I can.

My Thoughts and Experience
Playstation Vue has been the perfect experience in my time with it. The streams of any channel that I’ve ever watched have been perfect, not a sign of lag, the quality has stayed consistent, and the experience carries throughout all of my devices. Not a single problem with watching TV with any of them whether it’s on my phone, tablet, TV or laptop. No matter what plan you decide to go with and as long as you have a decent internet connection, Playstation Vue in my opinion is more than worth it. 

Which Would I Prefer?


Now if you haven’t already figured it out, I am all for the Playstation Vue. Aside from its pricing situation, the over all experience is too good to skip out on. At the time of using the service I had very bad internet and even then the connection was good enough to give me the perfect Live TV experience. If you haven’t already, go ahead and take advantage of Playstation Vue’s 5 day Free Trial. The service can be used on multiple devices from, Android to Apple, and from Laptops to Certain Smart TV’s. You could also take advantage of Sling TV’s free trial just to really compare the two for yourself, but I would highly recommend Vue over Sling if you want to take my word for it.

Thank you for taking the time to read my 2 Cents on the Sling TV vs. Playstation Vue. I look forward to bringing you more of my 2 Cents on the things that matter to me. 

Leave a Reply

